Showing posts with label dont look back. Show all posts
Showing posts with label dont look back. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

10 Chilling Halloween Reads For People Who Can't Stand Blood and Ghosts | Top Ten Tuesday



Not everything has to be spooky and gore-y in order to qualify for a mood-appropriate Halloween read. 
So here are ten books that are all chilling in their own ways but by no means will spill guts and blood in your face while reading. You're welcome.




FORESHADOWED - Holly M. Campbell
Concept: a serial killer is planning to kill you and you're psychic, so you know he'll come. But one thing - your psychic abilities aren't very precise. Constant vigilance it is then. (Dec 2014, 48Fourteen) Goodreads

THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN - Holly Black
Who thought putting ALL vampires in a single enclosure was a good idea? Sounds like an accident waiting to happen. Reality in this one. (Sep 2013, Little Brown Books) Goodreads

LABYRINTH LOST - Zoraida Córdova
Bisexual witches are here to give you a tour of the land of the dead. (Sep 2016, Sourcebook Fire) Goodreads



THE FORBIDDEN GAME - L.J. Smith
Jumanji YA style. L.J. Smith is one of the pioneers of YA and this woman just knows what she's doing. This trilogy is absolutely terrifying and wonderful and swoony. (Jun 2016, Simon Pulse) Goodreads

DON'T LOOK BACK - Jennifer L. Armentrout
So you're found alone wandering in the woods, covered in blood. Next thing they tell you is that yout best friend disappeared. Do you want to know what happened that night? (Apr 2014, Disney Hyperion) Goodreads

UPROOTED - Naomi Novik
There's nothing more terrifying than a forest at night. Especially if that forest starts eating people. (May 2015, Del Rey) Goodreads




ABANDON - Meg Cabot
You can never go wrong with a good-old Persephone & Hades retelling. Even less so when it's a Goth Hades and a Latina Persephone. (May 2011, Macmillan) Goodreads

THE 5TH WAVE - Rick Yancey
I can't imagine anything more creepy than aliens taking over the planet and systematically eradicating humanity step by step.  (May 2013, G.P. Putnam's Sons) Goodreads

MISS PEREGRINE'S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN - Ransom Riggs
This isn't scary-creepy this is more like... Addams family-creepy. With the movie coming up it's a safe tip to give it a shot! (Jun 2011, Quirk) Goodreads



ALIVE - Scott Sigler
Have you ever woken up alone in a coffin before? ... do you want to? (Jul 2015, Del Rey) Goodreads

Have you read any of these books? 

What's your favorite Halloween read?

Continue Reading...

Monday, April 11, 2016

[Review] Follow Me Back - Nicci Cloke: Unreliable Narrators, Disappearances, and Douchebags




In FOLLOW ME BACK, Aidan's classmate Lizzie disappears. When he gets approached by her best friend Marnie, they start investigating her disappearance.

What intrigued me: The cover promises an interesting mystery involving social media.

Why should we care?

FOLLOW ME BACK really isn't what it promises to be. I got teased by the cover and the premise surrounding the disappearance. Sadly, there isn't much to this book aside from this. The biggest problem this novel has is that there is no reason for the reader to care about Lizzie. GONE GIRL for example, works with a similar premise but makes sure to add little snippets to familiarize the reader with the disappeared character and makes sure that we care. I just missed that with FOLLOW ME BACK.

Like this, I wasn't interested in solving the mystery around Lizzie's disappearance and surely didn't root for Aidan either. The mere fact that this is advertised as being a novel including an unreliable narrator makes FOLLOW ME BACK insanely predictable, cliche, and boring. We know Aidan has something to do with it from the start, and therefore the plot twists don't come as a shock. The mundane scenes we have to go through for world establishing aren't helpful either. FOLLOW ME BACK really wants to be a thriller, but is only a mediocre mystery with very predictably acting, unlikable characters.

Social media is terrible and we're all going to die

FOLLOW ME BACK has a lot of potential. If I look over the fact that it's impossible to care for Lizzie, and that the mystery isn't really much of one - Aidan is a terrible main character. He hardly has any personality and frequently slut-shames and judges girls by their appearance, which I'm so, so, so tired of reading about. The whole story doesn't read like it's written from Aidan's perspective, really, because the narration is really shallow and he doesn't have a distinctive, memorable voice.

For being a book with a cover that insinuates having roots in social media, most of the novel just desperately tries to tell us how bad social media is and how dangerous and shallow it all is. I'm just not a fan of it. It reads like Cloke is talking down to her audience, seeming patronizing, and I cannot stand that. In the age of technology, social media is just necessary - this pseudo cautionary tale just doesn't work. Especially because none of the characters in FOLLOW ME BACK actually talk real teenagers do online. I was expecting more than just the occasional lazy conversation, more illustrations, more "following" and less "social media is bad and you're literally going to die if you use it."


Rating:

☆☆

 



Overall: Do I Recommend?

FOLLOW ME BACK has the potential to be an interesting novel about a disappearance, much like Jennifer L. Armentrout's DON'T LOOK BACK, but really didn't grip me.


Additional Info

Published: February 4th 2016
Pages: 288
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Genre: YA / Thriller
ISBN: 9781471405082

Synopsis:
"A thrilling read, for fans of Gone Girl and We Were Liars.

There was no sign of a struggle, they whisper to each other. She took her phone but left her laptop behind.
Apparently, she'd met someone online, they write to each other in class, phones buzzing.
She ran away. She was taken.

The first time Aiden Kendrick hears about Lizzie Summersall's disappearance is when the police appear at his front door. He and Lizzie used to be friends; they aren't anymore. And when Aiden finds out that Lizzie had been talking to strangers on Facebook; that the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her, and Aiden doesn't know it yet, but with Lizzie's disappearance his life is about to take a twisted and desperate turn.
 "(Source: Goodreads)

Do you like unreliable narrators?

Continue Reading...

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

[Review] Don't Look Back - Jennifer L. Armentrout

In DON'T LOOK BACK mean girl Samantha is found covered in blood wandering around in the woods. She has no idea how she got there, who she is and why she is there. When she gets home her family tells her that she isn't the only one who went missing:
Reminiscent of Mara Dyer- But Better

I love memory loss novels. This is exactly my niche. DON'T LOOK BACK has all the things I missed in THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER. Essentially the story lines are very similar: Girl is involved in an "accident", has no recollection of what happened, but is sure that she played a significant role.
In Mara Dyer, we obviously have a supernatural protagonist. In Sam, we just have an ordinary girl that is involved in some serious high school drama de luxe. I love novels about mean characters, about unlikeable, terrible people who have their reasons for being like this; Or who are maybe just bratty teenagers. It's insanely interesting to have her react to all the terrible things she did before the incident. There's nothing more entertaining to me than mean girls redeeming themselves.

The love interest Carson is just an overall cutie that is just the perfect guy next door. He's the son of their gardener and their romance is really adorable. Still, I'm not a fan of romance as a side plot and I would have preferred either having those two star in an all-romance novel instead of being hastily dealt with in a thriller.

I Didn't See That Ending Coming

Just as in every young adult novel we have a sloppy romance plot in here. I didn't like it the slightest bit and I thought it was extremely unnecessary. Even though the characters, from mean girls to servant's kids to Samantha's family, are all planned out very well, their relations to each other are very cliche. Armentrout obviously took the safe route and only paired stereotypical characters together:

Her brother with the old friend, the mean girls with someone else's boyfriends, the unhappily married unequal couples - the novel is full of things that I've read about dozens of times in literature. Not even once she seems to take a plunge and debut a new idea. In general, you can pretty much say that the novel is a mashup of all clichés in the genres that it combines.

BUT- this doesn't necessarily have to be a bad thing. I did enjoy the novel and despite all the cliché characters, Armentrout manages to shock and produce a decent thriller. It's not scary or actually thrilling in the least, but it keeps you up on your toes. I wanted to know desperately how it ends.

Rating:

★★★☆☆

 

Overall: Do I Recommend?

It's all that THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER couldn't be. This novel gives you the notion to be predictable read, but it really isn't. You will want to desperately continue and find out what happens next. 


Synopsis:
"Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it's one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took "mean girl" to a whole new level, and it's clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She's getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she's falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her- even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn't just buried deep inside of Sam's memory- someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?"

Have you read any of Jennifer L. Armentrout's books?

Do you prefer her YA or NA novels?

Continue Reading...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...